Early upgrade

Early upgrade

Got your eye on that box-fresh new handset? Even if you’re still under contract, you can easily upgrade your phone and, with Freestyle Trade Up, cash in your old handset to lower the cost of a shiny new one. Here’s how to get started.

Step 1

Have a chat with us to get your current handset valued

Step 2

Choose your new phone and upgrade to a new 24 month contract

Step 3

We’ll send you your new phone + packaging to return your old phone for free

All our freestyle plans come with these features.

Data Rollover: keep unused data
Data-free messaging on WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger and Twitter
Change your 4G plan up or down every month

Got questions about upgrading early? We’ve got the answers

What if my phone is worth more than my remaining loan?
If your old phone is worth more than your remaining contract, you’ll get the extra value back. If it’s worth less, you can still upgrade early – all you need to do is pay the difference.
Will the price you have offered change between placing my order and receiving my credit?
We aim to be as transparent as possible with pricing. Once you have identified your device and told us what condition it is in, the quote for the value of the device that we offer is guaranteed for 14 calendar days. If our assessment differs from your own, we’ll contact you immediately with the new price.
How should I return my device to you?
After confirming your Trade up with our sales team, you will receive a jiffy bag within 2-3 days. You then have 14 days to return your old phone. For higher value items, we would strongly recommend using Royal Mail’s Special Delivery service.
How will I know if you’ve received my phone?
Please allow 2-3 working days for Royal Mail to deliver your device to us. We’ll send a text to you the day we receive it. In some cases delivery can take longer, so if you don’t hear from us within 5 working days of sending, you should contact Royal Mail on 0845 774 0740.
What if I am not happy with my revised value?
If you don’t want to accept our revised value you can ask us to return your device. Should you choose not to accept the revised offer and decide not to continue with your new device you have 14 days from the date you reject the revised value or after the expiration of 5 days from the date we sent the revised value to return your new device to us and cancel the contract for your new device.
What happens to my Loan whilst my Trade Up is being processed?
A: To allow time for your Trade Up Order to be processed, your direct debit date will be moved out 30 calendar days from the date your Trade Up order is placed. You will be notified of any changes to your payment schedule by email.
What happens if I do not send back my old phone?
If you do not send your old phone back to us, you will still need to pay off the remaining Freestyle amount. This will start a second loan to pay off the outstanding balance of the old phone.
What do you do with the phone traded in?
It will either be recycled (broken down into bits that are then recycled) or reused (refurbished and sold to auction houses or insurance companies). The Terms and Conditions can be found here.
How do I know what phone I’ve got?
If you’re not sure you can find this under the battery, or type in *#o6# to find your IMEI number.
Do you accept blocked phones?
We subscribe to the Recyclers Code of Practice because we only want to provide a service to legitimate phone owners. If your device is identified as lost, stolen or blocked when we run our checks we won’t process your order until the block has been removed. Should this happen you will receive an email detailing how to resolve this through CheckMEND.
How can I delete data before I send it to you?
Before deleting any data please ensure that any data you wish to keep is saved elsewhere. A factory reset will erase all data on the phone usually. You should also ensure the device doesn’t have PIN codes and applications such as ‘find my phone’ are disabled.
Should I remove “Find my iPhone” from my iPhone before sending?
Yes, the device you are trading in will need to be reset and for iPhones must have the ‘Find My iPhone’ function disabled. This is essential as the device cannot be accepted with this still active and will impact the value. For help removing this please refer to the Apple Support website.
back to top